Source: Official Site of ICC

The Nominations for the LG ICC Awards 2010 have been made by the 5 Man Committee comprising of ICC Cricket Committee Chairman Clive Lloyd, former India Captain Ravi Shastri, former England fast bowler Angus Fraser, ex-Zimbabwe batsman and England coach Duncan Fletcher and former Australian opener Matthew Hayden. These will be the 7th ICC Awards and would be held in Bangalore on October 6 this year, after the first Test match (October 1 to 5) between India and Australia in Australia’s tour of India. The inaugural ICC Awards were held in London in 2004, followed by Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009) and Dubai (2008). These awards recognize the major individual and team achievements in World of Cricket.

The Nominations for the major categories are as follows:

Cricketer of the Year:

Hashim Amla, Doug Bollinger, Michael Clarke, MS Dhoni, Ryan Harris, Mitchell Johnson, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara, Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn, Sachin Tendulkar, Daniel Vettori, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson and Graeme Swann

Previous Winners: Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (2005), Ricky Ponting (2006), Ricky Ponting (2007), Shivnaraine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009)

Test Player of the Year:

Hashim Amla, James Anderson, Mohammad Asif, Doug Bollinger, MS Dhoni, Tamim Iqbal, Mahela Jayawardena, Jacques Kallis, Simon Katich, Kumar Sangakkara, Thilan Samaraweera, Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn, Graeme Swann, Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Watson

Previous Winners: Rahul Dravid (2004), Jacques Kallis (2005), Ricky Ponting (2006), Mohammad Yousuf (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Gautam Gambhir (2009)

ODI Player of the Year:

Hashim Amla, Doug Bollinger, MS Dhoni, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Ryan Harris, Michael Hussey, Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, AB de Villiers, Daniel Vettori, Shane Watson and Cameron White

Previous Winners: Andrew Flintoff (2004), Kevin Pietersen (2005), Michael Hussey (2006), Matthew Hayden (2007), MS Dhoni (2008 and 2009).

Emerging Player of the Year:

Mohammad Amir, Umar Akmal, Tim Bresnan, Steven Finn, Shafiul Islam, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Angelo Mathews, Eoin Morgan, Pragyan Ojha, Tim Paine, Wayne Parnell, Kemar Roac, Steven Smith, Paul Stirling and David Warner

Previous Winners: Irfan Pathan (2004), Kevin Pietersen (2005), Ian Bell (2006), Shaun Tait (2007), Ajantha Mendis (2008), Peter Siddle (2009)


The eventual winners of these awards will be decided through voting by a 25 strong panel of renowned former players, respected media members, an elite umpire and an elite match referee.

The 5 Man panel mentioned earlier will also select the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

The Spirit of Cricket Award will be voted on by all Full Member International Captains, member s of ICC Umpires Elite Panel and ICC Referees Elite Panel.

The Umpire of the Year will be voted on by Captains and Elite Referee Panel.

A new category has been included this year known as the LG People’s Choice Award, which will be chosen by Cricket fans around the world through online voting from a short list of 5 Cricketers, selected by ICC Selection Panel on basis of innovative parameters which are in sync with values embodied by brand LG.

Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: